Genre-melding AMBERIAN DAWN take the stage once more, offering a brand new take on the world famous songs performed by the legendary ABBA – this time in METAL. The album of covers is titled Take A Chance – A Metal Tribute to ABBA is due out on December 2nd, 2022 via Napalm Records. Throughout their dedication, this album not only pays tribute to one of their biggest inspirations but, as well introduces the Metal genre to an entirely different sort of cover creation.

I really don’t care if you hated Disco, or didn’t even like ABBA (which, how can you not like ABBA? Seriously? Dancing Queen? Waterloo? All greats! Up your taste) this is only a sampling of what Amberian Dawn will release. The first single from the album, titled “SOS” debuts their take, as well as announces the album’s excitement with a new lyric video. With signature vocals and musical talent, the band has done well to re-imagine the classic ABBA track whilst still holding onto the characteristic charm that made it a classic.

Tuomas Seppälä on the new single:
“’SOS’ is a great song. It’s both a happy and sad song at the same time. The original version uses a unique piano sound. I didn’t want to use that kind of piano sound myself, because it wouldn’t have been as good as the original, so instead of that, I used more powerful guitars and other synthesizers in our arrangement. Our version of the song really brings ABBA into the world of metal in the 21st century.”

Pushing forward from their last album, Looking For You (2020), Amberian Dawn come together to ignite their passion once more and take a chance at blazing the road ahead in a new era for Metal with Take A Chance – A Metal Tribute to ABBA. Now introducing the newly titled age of “ABBA-Metal“, the band pushes the boundary on all genres while still keeping the foundations of Metal at their core. Amberian Dawn utilizes their influential and signature elements alongside the characteristic ABBA charms and keys to not only give rebirth to ABBA‘s legacy but, transform it as never heard before. Utilizing synthesizers for that signature vintage sound, blistering riffs, and Capri’s siren-like voice, the original verses and re-stylized melody move seamlessly. Shattering drum beats keep the experience moving quick with its metal tone but never loses those catchy ABBA notes. With the ear-worm lyrics and nostalgia-driven concept Amberian Dawn recreates timeless classics whilst still holding true to their own identity.

With tracks including “Mamma Mia” and “Super Trouper“, Amberian Dawn brings their signature enchantment while flicking at the disco lights of our memories. From ballads to blazers like “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!” we know that Amberian Dawn has come to explore and captivate with their glorious new cover album that’s ready to leave the Metal world with its jaw on the floor.

Tuomas Seppälä on the album:
“This was a ‘must do album’ for me. We had so much fun in 2019 working on our first cover song ever (which was ABBA’s ‘Lay All Your Love On Me’), that it was easy to make a decision to continue with a full ABBA covers album. The songs have been carefully selected, there’s a couple of big hit songs of course, but some of my personal favorites, like ‘The Day Before You Came’, are also included. The recording project was eventually a really big challenge for all of us and needed a lot of work, but we’re all 100% satisfied with the results. This album really sounds like an AMBERIAN DAWN album.”

Take A Chance – A Metal Tribute to ABBA track listing:

  1. Super Trouper
  2. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
  3. SOS
  4. Head Over Heels
  5. The Day Before You Came
  6. Angeleyes
  7. That’s Me
  8. Mamma Mia
  9. Under Attack
  10. Like An Angel Passing Through My Room
  11. Lay All Your Love On Me

You can pre-order your own copy of Amberian Dawn‘s Take A Chance – A Metal Tribute to ABBA via the Napalm Records link! You can also find out more about the band via their Facebook page, Instagram, and website!